You are here:Home » Moot Court

Prof. S.P. Sathe Memorial Annual National Moot Court Competition:

Date: 24th to 26th February 2012

The Moot Court Competition was a sequel to the three day International Conference. As the theme this year was Feminism, the issue for arguments that was selected was of medical termination of pregnancy. The question was with respect to the abortion of the child of a mentally ill woman, by her guardian, against and without her consent. The moot problem was drafted by Kanika Dhanda, Srishti Agnihotri (both V LL.B.) and Kirti Balasubramanium (III LL.B.).

The entire moot court competition was co-ordinated by Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray, professor in-charge. This competition was organised by a strong and an able team of 21 student organisers and more than 30 volunteers, of various batches of the college. The student co-ordinators were Aakanksha Nehra and Lakshmi Krishnan (both V LL.B.). The memorials (written submission on behalf of the participating teams) were judged by a student team and a team of professors. The policy for marking penalties for the memorial was designed by Ravi Raghunath (IV LL.B.). The student team consisted of Arjun Uppal, Sonali Dhir, and Jesal Shah (all V LL.B.). Further, the professors who judged the memorials were:


  1. Dr. Deepa Paturkar, (teaching faculty at ILS Law College, Pune)
  2. Smt. Swati Kulkarni (teaching faculty at ILS Law College, Pune)
  3. Smt. Sonali Shrikhande (visiting faculty at ILS Law College, Pune)
  4.  Dr. Payal Thorve (Asst. Professor, Department of Law, University of Pune).

The competition this year took a leap and hosted 36 teams from all over India. They were:
New Law College, BVDU, Pune; NALSAR University of Law; Institute of Law, Nirma University; National Law University, Delhi; Rajiv Gandhi National University of Law, Punjab; Amity Law School, Delhi; KIIT Law School, Bhubaneshwar; Rayat College of Law, Punjab; Dr D.Y. Patil College of Law, Mumbai; Campus Law Center,Facutly of Law, Delhi University; Jamia Millia Islamia, Delhi; Children Welfare Center Law College, Mumbai; M.S. Ramaiah College of Law, Bengaluru; Gujarat National Law University; Symbiosis Law School, Pune; ITM Law School, Gurgaon; School Of Excellence in Law, Chennai; Yashwantrao Chavan Law College, Pune; Government Law College, Mumbai; K.C. Law College, Mumbai; Dr. Ambedkar College, Nagpur; University Institute Of Legal Studies, Punjab University; ILS Law College, Pune; P.E. Society’s Modern Law College, Pune; Shri Shivaji Maratha Society’s Law College, Pune; DES Law College, Pune; Christ University, School of Law, Bengaluru; SVKM’s Pravin Gandhi College of Law, Mumbai; Amity Law School, Noida, UP; Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University, Lucknow; National Law University, Orissa; National Law School and Judicial Academy, Assam; National University of Advanced Legal Studies, Kochi; University of Petrolem and Energy Studies, Dehradun; Rizvi Law College, Mumbai; Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar College of Law, Nagpur; Marathwada Mitra Mandal’s Shankar Rao Chavan Law College, Pune.

The participating teams’ registration happened on the January 24, 2012 and consequently, the two preliminary rounds were held on January 25, 2012. The preliminary rounds were judged by our beloved alumni, as they were spread across two sessions: pre-lunch and post-lunch. Four teams on the basis of their win points and score points proceeded to the semi-finals. The semi-finals were held on the last day of the event, i.e. January 26, 2012. The two courts in the semi-finals had a three judge bench of the following practicing advocates from Pune:


  1. Shri Avinash Ganu
  2. Smt. Mrugandha Joshi
  3. Smt. Pratibha Dalal
  4. Smt. Savita Prabhune
  5. Shri Shriram Gadre
  6. Smt. Viddulata Gawde


The final round was judged by an esteemed three judge bench, constituting of:


  1. Dr. Durgambini Patel, Asst. Professor, Department of Law, University of Pune.
  2. Smt. Gayatri Jaysingh, Advocate, Bomaby High Court and co-founder of HRLN
  3. Dr. Medha Kotwal, founder of ‘Aalochana’.


The moot court competition was won by the Christ University, Bangalore and they won against Campus Law College, Delhi. The other awards that were won are:

Sr. No.  Name of the prize and Team awarded the prize:

1.     Semi Finalists National Law University, Delhi Jamia Milia Islamia, Delhi
2.     Best Memorial National Law University, Delhi
3.     2nd Best Memorial Christ University, Bangalore
4.     Best Student Advocate Neha Sharma; National Law University, Delhi
5.     2nd Best Student Advocate Sukhmani Singh; Campus Law Centre, University of Delhi
6.     Best Speaker, Final Round Pranay Kapoor, Christ University, Bangalore
7.    Justice V. A. Naik Prize for the Best Team in Maharashtra Dr. D.Y. Patil College of Law, Mumbai


All the above mentioned prizes along with the participating certificates were awarded to the respective teams in the valedictory function, chaired by the abovementioned judges of the final round, Prin. Vaijayanti Joshi and Dr. Nitish Nawsagaray on February 26, 2012.